The Life of an Intern

When one says the word “intern” a few things quickly pop into my mind: coffee, copy girl, faxing, paper, “grabbing lunch” for someone as well as many more. So before starting my internship this summer I was a little worried about what I was going to be doing during my internship. There was also the added bonus of being in DC. While this was what I wanted navigating DC was something I was not sure I could tackle.

On the first day I boarded the bus to DC proud of myself for first of all getting on the right bus. I sat in those cheap fabric clothed seats with a lot on my mind. When we got to DC I started counting stops to my destination to make sure I wasn’t going to be stranded on a random back alley in DC. I got off at the right stop thinking I was going to have to walk a few blocks but to my surprise I was dropped off right in front of my building. I was a little early so I took the time to do some exploring. I was greeted by a few of my favorite restaurants and stores that were in very close proximity. A few minutes before 10 I walked into the building, walked into the elevator, pushed floor 7 and waited to arrive. When I walked into the office I was greeted by familiar faces which made walking into a foreign office easier. I chatted about the commute, what I did in my extra time, how summer was going, etc. then was given a tour of the office. I was shown all the nooks and crannies and the last stop of the tour was my office. YES THAT’S RIGHT I HAVE MY OWN OFFICE. 🙂 Holy moly! I was just a silly intern I didn’t need much. I was quickly introduced to the corporate world and man I wasn’t going to complain. I met my fellow intern partner and the whole team went out to lunch to get to know each other better. The rest of the day was a little slow sitting in on a few calls but nothing major. As the days went on and I got more comfortable with the position and navigating DC.

Needless to say this experience has changed my view on an intern. An intern is someone who gets things done so those who are the heart and soul of the organization can get more done to further the mission of the organization. Yes, that may mean making copies or grabbing that BLT from that cute little deli across the street but it if that what makes someone else’s life easier I’m willing to do it. Also the experience and knowledge you gain from being an intern is priceless. You get to learn so much about the organization you are working for, how the organization runs and how the corporate world works. If you get a position where you get to actually get your hands dirty in something you are interested in, which I have been fortunate enough to have done, hold on to it! The skills learned can be translated later to your dream job. If nothing else its a great resume or portfolio builder.

 

